Hooray for Chick-fil-A…?

August 2, 2012 § Leave a comment

As many are aware, yesterday was proclaimed to be “Chick-Fil-A appreciation day” in response to recently exposed homophobia harbored by the CEO, Dan Cathy.

As an avid supporter of same-sex marriage and equal marriage laws, I was taken aback (along with many others) by Cathy’s blatantly homophobic comments. Naturally, I was outraged. Discrimination is one thing the world can certainly do without, and simple minded people such as Cathy are holding our ever changing society back from making the proper advancements.

It is at this point that I force myself to try and see things from the other point of view. As someone raised in  the very liberal state of Massachusetts, I haven’t been exposed to a conservative population (I am well aware that there is one here somewhere, as we do have a republican Senator, but Camridge is as democratic as it gets). While I will never agree with any anti-gay principles, I can at least make an attempt to understand why Dan Cathy would feel like he could discriminate against such a large population so openly.

Like I have been raised in a community where nearly everyone is pro-gay, I assume that Cathy grew up a community where many felt the opposite. Additionally, I have never practiced any form of religion, so any anti-gay argument that involves God or the bible goes straight over my head.

Due to our drastically different upbringings, we have different views, and each of us thinks we are correct. We each lack an understanding of the other’s principles, which is why it can be so difficult to understand someone with different views.

However, this is no excuse for discrimination, because I think that everyone is capable of opening up their mind. My hope that is in 100 years, gay marriage is so openly accepted that my great grandchildren frown upon people like Dan Cody.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hooray for Chick-fil-A…? at Lets be independent together .

meta

