Lights, camera, superstar?

August 2, 2012 § Leave a comment

Opening night is in less than 24 hours and I couldn’t feel more nervous. 

I have spent the last five weeks rehearsing for a very local production of Jesus Christ Super star that, unfortunately, hasn’t quite come together. 

I am not usually one to suffer from a case of the nerves, as I conquered stage fright long ago. However, despite the fact that my part is small, I feel so unprepared. If there is anything about myself that I have discovered in recent years, its that I hate not having complete control. 

Here is where the big life lesson comes in: 

Over the course of this year I have learned something very valuable. Sometimes, you have to do shit you really don’t want to. Weather its as painful as completing a 1500 meter piece on the erg (did I mention I’m a rower?), or as simple as climbing a fence, sometimes all you can do it suck it up and give it your all.

So tomorrow on that stage, I’ll throw all I have at my role as priest 1 and hope that even if the show goes down in flames, I walk away knowing I gave it all I had. 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lights, camera, superstar? at Lets be independent together .

meta

