The Ever so Romantic Story of my First Kiss

August 9, 2012 § 3 Comments

November 2nd, 2011. 

I have waited 16 years and one day for this moment. We sit in silence facing one an other. Faces close, knees almost touching. He reaches out with his right hand and strokes me cheek as gently as the current brushes rocks on the shore, leaning in closer. I am buzzing, I can feel his breath, and in a moment the wait is over, I have finally kissed a- 

Great, now lets run it on our feet!” my our assistant director says, motioning for us to follow his lead.

You know you’re a theatre kid when your first kiss is in character. 

“Just don’t count it,” everyone says. Unfortunately, the truth is that I don’t possess a romantic first kiss story. The kiss in the rain with the boy of my dreams wasn’t exactly how events played out. However, I like to bring the transitive property in to play while describing my first kiss.

The freshman who played Link Larkin = Link Larkin = Zach Efron/Mathew Morrison.

   

So hey, its really not so bad.

Besides, I’ve realized how overrated the whole “first kiss” thing is anyway. I felt so behind, not having had mine, but it doesn’t change who you are. Not having kissed a guy doesn’t make you less mature, or less pretty than anyone else, it just means you haven’t found the right person.

Naturally, I was told this many times and didn’t believe a word of it.“Why is there no right person for me?” I would wonder. The answer? High School is small. What are the odds that you’ll find someone that you click with completely in a school with 2000 kids? That seems like so many, but in the end its a small percentage of students that you’d even consider. Besides, most of us won’t admit we lack the maturity to handle a relationship, but I’ll be the first to admit I do.

Anyway, back to what I was saying (I have a habit of going off topic). My point is that the “perfect first kiss” is fabricated and sold by the media. While many have romantic first kiss stories, others have romantic kiss stories. And many, like myself, just have kiss stories. Maybe one day I’ll be swept of my feet, but for the time being I’m just “straight chillin.”

§ 3 Responses to The Ever so Romantic Story of my First Kiss

  • crpeterson says:

    My first kiss felt like the guy was trying to eat the little dangly thing that hangs down in the back of your throat. It was traumatizing. Immediately after I ran to the phone, called my best friend, and almost cried because it was so disgusting. So I am with you, wait for the right one!! (Someone who doesn’t try to eat your face) Blegh.

  • “some have romantic kiss stories” Amazingly said! Good post!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Ever so Romantic Story of my First Kiss at Lets be independent together .

meta

