The Dismount

August 22, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’m back in Cambridge, and couldn’t have received a warmer welcome!  I guess I can finally cross “jump off a bridge” off my bucket list.

I cannot find the words to describe the free fall. It was the shortest and longest five seconds of my life, ending abruptly with the stinging sensation that traveled through my thighs and back due to my ungraceful dismount.

I should have begun by clarifying that I am not afraid of heights. I am terrified of drops however. It took me sixteen years to ride my first roller coaster because the steep drop in the beginning was enough to send me running in the opposite direction.

Here’s the trick: It’s all in the build up. The clicking of your cart as it slowly approaches the decent. Standing on the edge of the cement ledge staring in to the  reflective Charles River water.

Then, the release. The whoosh as the cart reaches the tipping point. The scream that followed the out-of-the-ordinary burst of courage that sent me flying off of the Harvard foot bridge.

I don’t know if I will ever be able to summon that kind of courage again, but maybe it only takes closing your eyes and counting to three.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Dismount at Lets be independent together .

meta

