Swiftly Approaching the Climax

September 20, 2012 § Leave a comment

Happy audition week everyone!
It’s that time of year again and my stomach is in knots. The fall musical is competitive, and I’m fighting for a spot.

Monday I auditioned with my song and monologue, and left feeling unfulfilled. It was a long two day wait until the callback list was posted yesterday, but somehow my name found its way on there. I had the privilege of reading for the female lead all afternoon.

There’s the problem with callbacks: you begin just wanting any part in the show, no matter how small, but callbacks introduce you to this wonderful lead. I’ve realized how amazing having this big role would be, but I have to keep forcing my hopes down and remind myself that I haven’t even been cast yet. It doesn’t help that all of a sudden I’ve been thrust in to some crappy ABC family movie, and am competing with two of my best friends for this part.

I did give it all  I had though, that’s one thing I am certain about. If I don’t get cast in this role at least I can be confident that I held nothing back at callbacks. That’s what it’s about it in the end I guess. You win some and you lose some, but the real losers are the ones who lost because they gave up. If this role slips away from my grasp, there’s always next year to bounce back!

The cast list will be posted Friday afternoon. After school. I cringe just thinking about the two six and a half hour days that I’ll have to endure before I receive closure. Including tonight, that’s over thirty two hours! Alright, it’s time to stop torturing myself with this math and regulate my heart beat. That’s something you become so accustomed to through theatre, the feeling that a monster hand is residing in your chest and squeezing your heart. Yet, I stick with it. The uphill battle is almost over, just two days until I reach the peak. I can see it where the end is supposed to be, but I just can’t seem to make it out through all of this fog.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Swiftly Approaching the Climax at Lets be independent together .

meta

