Can I get a drum roll please?

September 23, 2012 § 1 Comment

…and after a nail biting two days, the cast list has been posted. I’m glad that I can say it only generated great news!

I am officially the luckiest girl, and will be playing the lead role of Hope Cladwell in “Urinetown” this fall! Yes, the show’s title is off putting but even that can’t dampen my spirits.

Thursday was stressful, Friday was painful. Just thinking about the mystery surrounding the cast list was enough to send a metaphysical knife sailing into my gut. Checking the clock every five minutes grew more difficult with each passing interval, but somehow I made it to the last ten minutes of the day. Then I had to face the walk. The typical thirty second commute from the chorus classroom to the location of the cast list stretched for miles and ended abruptly at a dense crowd of people. I couldn’t look, but I had to. The next two months of my life depended on that sheet of paper.

Hope Cladwell…followed by my name. Could it be true? I still don’t completely believe it.

Glorious moments such as these are the reason I do theatre. Granted, they only come after my lowest moments. Being cut from the musical my freshman year was devastating to say the least, being rejected from the Christmas revels chorus hurt as well, and not making the winter play was a huge disappointment.  With each cut and insignificantly small role my frustration only grew further. My dad would comfort me by saying my time would come, that eventually people would recognize me. He told me to stick to it and I could only move up.

Dedication and patience can only pay off.  I know that I’ll face waves of brutal rejection in the future, but for now I am going to bask in the light.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Can I get a drum roll please?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Can I get a drum roll please? at Lets be independent together .

meta

