Hey Romney, put a sock in it.

September 27, 2012 § 1 Comment

“The district that spent the most per pupil and had the smallest classrooms, Cambridge, those kids were in the bottom 10 percent.”

Not only is the above statement insulting, but it is also false. As a proud, eleventh year Cambridge public school student, I was appalled when I read what Romney said on Tuesday. I’ll let the statistics vouch for my school district’s success http://www.bostonmagazine.com/best-schools-in-boston/index.html.

So I begin to wonder, where exactly is the republican presidential candidate getting his information? MCAS  scores perhaps? I did a quick google search (thank goodness for technology) to see what I could find, and it certainly was not parallel with what Romney is claiming.

Ranked 244th out of 350 in tenth grade English does not sound like the bottom 10% to me, and neither does 154th out of 351 in tenth grade math. I looked at several other 2010 MCAS rankings and while Cambridge never makes the top 10%, we certainly are not at the bottom. Mitt Romney’s comment is rooted in a complete lie. He also neglected to mention Cambridge’s incredibly diverse population. It is difficult to take an English MCAS exam if English is not your first language.

I find it pretty concerning that Romney blatantly lied and has not been called out on it, as someone who’s entire education has been provided by the city of Cambridge it is also insulting to have my entire education slandered.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Hey Romney, put a sock in it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hey Romney, put a sock in it. at Lets be independent together .

meta

