Haters Gonna Hate, Potatoes gonna Potate.

November 28, 2012 § 1 Comment

To begin, I’d like to apologize for dropping off the face off wordpress for the last couple of months. The show consumed nearly all of my time, and any free second that it forgot was immediately snatched up by homework. Needless to say, I was pretty swamped.

However, eight packed weeks of nonstop work paid off more than I ever expected. While tackling my part was nerve wracking, frustrating, and very uncomfortable at times, the gratification I received at the end of the process was nothing short of glorious. For that one week of shows, I was a celebrity. Showered in waves of compliments, I had never felt more appreciated.

The celebration came to an abrupt halt when some very startling news met me at school on Monday morning. I was told that a cruel article, relentlessly bashing the show and actors, had been passed out during our Friday night show. As if  from a scene from some crappy teen film, a black hooded mystery person had sneaked in to the auditorium during intermission and threw these papers in to the audience with no remorse. Upon discovery, the papers were collected before any company members had a chance to see them. A destructively curious side of me longed to read the article, while another part of me knew I did not want to see what it said. I am sure you can guess which half ultimately had it’s way.

When I returned home from striking the set on Monday I was sent a link that lead to the article on facebook. Upon reading it, I was devastated. The author acknowledged the quality of my singing, but immediately proceed to say that a different actress deserved the part more.

Oh, the anger.

Rage bubbled up inside of me like a tea kettle on the verge of a boil. I wanted to slam doors, punch walls, and most of all, find this “ghost writer” and give them “a fucking piece of my fucking mind.” I could not believe what I had read. All my hard work put to shame by some faceless stranger behind a screen. For a brief second, the whole show was ruined, soiled by one negative review.

Then, closure.

It is absurd to assume that everyone would like my performance, or even the show. Where there is glory, there is also criticism. While the negative comments hurt, they show me where I have gotten in these past three years of high school drama.  Once a freshman face that no one recognized or knew, I have become a face that inspires these younger students. I have become a face that receives compliments and recognition, but along with this success comes the pain of being disliked. While it may kill in the moment, I have learned to embrace this hatred, because at the end of the day I still have the success that no one can deprive me of.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Haters Gonna Hate, Potatoes gonna Potate.

  • Courtney says:

    Some people amaze me with how nasty they can be for no reason!!! I am glad you had so much fun doing the show and hope you can even enjoy the people who criticize you, they are jealous of you putting yourself out there and in a vulnerable position. Clearly a person who wouldn’t even put a name or face behind a horrible review lacks the self confidence you posses!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Haters Gonna Hate, Potatoes gonna Potate. at Lets be independent together .

meta

